Buffs: 2 Srs., 1 Jr. and Soph. named all-WAC football first teamers

BUFFS ROUNDUP: Friday, Nov. 15, 2019


Two seniors, a junior and a sophomore football players for the Buffaloes of Garden City High School were named to the 2019 all-Western Athletic Conference football first team, announced Thursday, Nov. 14.

Offensive lineman Refugio Charez and defensive linebacker Paul Perez were the two Buffs’ seniors chosen to the first team while junior running back Josh Janas and sophomore defensive lineman Terrell Elliott also garnered first team league honors.

GCHS football
Refugio Chairez (77) named all-WAC offensive lineman.

Janas, who played at the varsity level for the first time as a high schooler, was the third leading rusher in the WAC, gaining 1,057 yards and scoring 12 touchdowns, also third best in the WAC.


Perez was the Buffs’ top tackler, finishing with 73 while tying for third best in sacks with three. Elliott had 8 tackles for loss.

Four other Buffaloes were voted to the second team offense, those included senior wide receiver Philip Biera, senior wideout Lane Durst, junior lineman Trey Nuzum and sophomore lineman Kelvin Rico.

Durst was third in the league in receiving yards with 359 coming on 19 receptions, sixth best in the league.

On the defensive side, second team choices included sophomore Ashton Huber.

The Buffaloes compiled a 2-2 league record, putting them third behind Dodge City and Great Bend and they were 2-7 overall. The Buffs will return the bulk of their starters for the 2020 season as just four seniors started in the final weeks of the season.

All-Western Athletic Conference

2019 Football

First Team


Beau Foster, Dodge City, QB, Sr.; Matt Friess, Dodge City, WR, Jr.; Aaron Nelson, Dodge City, OL, Sr.; Juan Lopez, Dodge City, OL, Sr.; Dalton Miller, Great Bend, QB, Sr.; Alex Schremmer, Great Bend, WR, Sr.; Gage Fritz, Great Bend, RB, Sr.; Joshua Janas, Garden City, RB, Jr.; Refugio Chairez, Garden City, OL, Sr.; Hayden Brown, Hays, WR/RB, Sr.; Syris Dunlap, Liberal, Ath., Sr.; Jose Valverde, Dodge City, K, Sr.; Peyton Duvall, Great Bend, WR, Sr.


Alden Knedler, Dodge City, LB, Jr.; Tommy Bermudez, Dodge City, LB, Sr.; Santonio Turner, Dodge City, DL, So.; Alex Olivas, Great Bend, LB, Sr.; Alan Miramontes, Great Bend, DL, Sr.; Joey Soupiset, Great Bend, DB, Sr.; Terrell Elliott, Garden City, DL, So.; Paul Perez, Garden City, LB, Sr.; Gaven Haselhorst, Hays, DE, Jr.; Gavin Meyers, Hays, LB, So.; Aldo Avilas, Liberal, DL, So.

Offensive Player of the Year: Beau Foster, Dodge City, QB, Sr.

Defensive Player of the Year: Alden Knedler, Dodge City, LB, Jr.

Coach of the Year: Dave Foster, Dodge City

Second Team


Bryan Holz, Dodge City, OL, Sr.; John Johnson, Dodge City, WR, Sr.; Carlos Teran, Dodge City, OL, Jr.; Barrett Lutt, Great Bend, OL, Sr.; Jason Scott, Great Bend, OL, So.; Philip Biera, Garden City, WR, Sr.; Kelvin Rico, Garden City, OL, So.; Lane Durst, Garden City, WR, Sr.; Brock Lummus, Hays, OL, Sr.; Trey Nuzum, Garden City, OL, Jr.; Jamie Arenivas, Liberal, OL, Sr.; Josh Bertholf, Dodge City, OL, Sr.; Luke Fletcher, Hays, OL, Sr.


Josh Harshberger, Dodge City, LB, Sr.; Cedric Rosales, Dodge City, LB, Sr.; Jashon Taylor, Dodge City, DL, Sr.; Elias Moreno, Great Bend, DL, Jr.; Bryce Brown, Great Bend, DB, Sr.; Zach Seymour, Great Bend, LB, Sr.; Ashton Huber, Garden City, DB, So.; Trey Adams, Hays, DE, Jr.; Tucker Veach, Hays, DB, Jr.; Sergio Chavez, Liberal, DB, Sr.; Alex Esparza, Liberal, LB, Jr.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s